

## STATE OF WASHINGTON PUBLIC EMPLOYMENT RELATIONS COMMISSION

## MICHAEL P. SELLARS, EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR

112 Henry Street NE, Suite 300 • Post Office Box 40919 • Olympia, Washington 98504-0919 (360) 570-7300 • Fax: (360) 570-7334 • Email filings: filing@perc.wa.gov • Website: www.perc.wa.gov

November 4, 2024

## **Investigation Statement**

Case 137583-E-24; Washington State University Postdoctoral Employee Bargaining Unit

An investigation was held by email to obtain stipulations from the following participants:

Amy Bowles, for the petitioner, UAW Local 4121. Kendra Hsieh, for the employer, Washington State University. Emily K. Whitney, for the Commission.

- 1. The parties stipulated to the following during the course of the conference:
  - a. The Public Employment Relations Commission (PERC) has jurisdiction in this matter under chapter 41.56 RCW.
  - b. The petitioner, Postdocs United/International Union United Automobile, Aerospace and Agricultural Implement Workers of America, is a qualified bargaining representative under RCW 41.56.030(2).
  - c. The representation petition was timely filed on September 18, 2023.
  - d. The parties agree that there are no unfair labor practice charges that would block the representation petition.
  - e. The bargaining unit description is as follows:

All postdoctoral employees as defined by RCW 41.56.513 employed by Washington State University, excluding supervisors, confidential employees, employees covered by chapter 41.76 RCW, and all other employees.

f. The employer prepared the list of eligible employees. The correct list is dated September 16, 2024. The list of eligible employees is included below. To be an eligible voter, an employee must have been employed in the bargaining unit on November 4, 2024, and must remain an employee on the date of the tally.

2. PERC will conduct a card check. PERC will send an election notice for posting on the employer's premises. The employer will provide records containing the employees' signatures. The signatures on those records are compared with the signatures on the showing of interest cards. Each matching signature is a vote in support of representation. No ballots are sent to employees.

An employee can withdraw their showing of interest card on or before **November 12**, **2024**.

The employer must provide PERC employment records with employees' names and signatures no later than **November 12, 2024**. The card check will occur no sooner than **November 13, 2024**.

3. The following matters remain in dispute between the parties:

The employer asserts that employees in the following classifications: Research Associates, Clinical Residents, Contingent Workers, Academic Affiliates, and individuals not employed by non-university entities are not postdoctoral employees and should be excluded from the bargaining unit. The current list of challenged employees includes: Seham H.M. Hendawy, Contessa Ricci, Sammuel Shahzad, Aiden Nguyen, Brad Dimos, Rahmani Shavzad, Mohammadamin Vahidi Ghazvini, Kristopher Smith, Sara Westbrook. The identified challenged employees may need to be updated prior to hearing. PERC will make a determination on the disputed issue through proceedings held after the card check.

Any objections to this statement must be filed with PERC, in writing, within 10 days following the date of this letter, and a copy must be served on all parties. This statement reflects the parties' binding stipulations and will not be modified unless good cause is shown.

PUBLIC EMPLOYMENT RELATIONS COMMISSION

By: Emily K. Whitney
EMILY K. WHITNEY, Representation Administrator

## LIST OF ELIGIBLE EMPLOYEES

Adnan Faraj Saad Mayof
Alexandra Johnson
Alycia R. Bean
Amany Hasan
Hao Xu
Hatice Sari
Himani Malik
Hira Kamal

Amit Kumar Kesharwani Hira Shakoor (Hira Shakoor)

Anna Kyslynska Hnin Phyu Lwin
Anu Rani Hossein Noorazar
Aqib Iqbal Dar Hui Min Olivia Oung
Arild Ranlym Arifin Huiting Zhang
Ariun Upadhaya Hyunwoo Kang

Asmaa Hamed Ahmed Mahmoud Janaina Capelli Peixoto Basavaraj Rajkumar Amogi Jennifer J Heppner

Behnam Bozorgmehr Jing Geng Bhabesh Borphukan Jing Yu Bing Liu

Bing Liu Jinlong Zhang
Bruno Carra John Anthony Hadish

Bruno Patricio Costa John Richard Finkelberg
Caiqi Wang Jose Maria Garcia Carrasco
Charles Obiero Joseph Michael Hulbert
Chelsea Abegg Judith Kay Marshall

Christian Emery Brown

Juliana Krystina Garcia

Christopher John Cook Jyoti Kashyap Clayton Louis Bailes Katelin Anne Swanson

Cynthia Kavulani Onzere Kaviraj Singh Dale Tempe Clement Kayla Earls

Daniel Scott Auerbach

Diego Rincon

Kitana M Kaiphanliam

Kyle Yoshida

Dr Aina Baro Sabe

Lin Shao

Dylan Joseph Beal

Lina Pilar Martinez Valencia

Edem Avemegah Linqian Han

Emily Frances Klarquist

Emily Leickly

Linqian Han

Loick Christ

Luigi M Peracchi

Erin Oliver Luis Alberto Reyes Rojas

Fabio Vale Scarpare Lulu Ren
Firdoos Ahmad Gogry Mahmoud Gargouri
FNU Chandra Dev Mahmuda Islam

FNU Chandra Dev Mahmuda Islam
FNU Shiva Malgorzata Krysiak

Givemore Munashe Makonya Malin Christian John Dixon Wilkins Golam Saroare Shakil Manish Chauhan Gwyneth Manser Marc Andreas Beer

Hanna Louise Delgado Marcella Alves Teixeira

Marissa Diaz Matthew A Yourek Md Hazzaz Bin Kabir Melissa Kay Driessnack

Melissa Lynn Holahan Miguel Rene Mogollon Lancheros

Mingxin Shi Mingyao Yang

Mohammad Maksudur Rahman Mr Adeniyi Olufemi Adesina Muhammad Khusairy Bin Bakri Muhammad Usman Khan

Muluken Enyew Nataliya Shcherbatyuk Nicolas Bergmann Nina Alyssa Barroga Nolan Scheible Ousseini Issaka Salia Owusu Fordjour Aidoo

Pardeep Pankaj

Pedro de Oliveira Viadanna Philip Layton Ashmore Poonam Chaudhary Poppy May Gardiner Prasad Parchuri Qingyan Meng Qiuping Peng

Rachel Cameron Van Court

Rahele Panahabadi Raissa Fon Na-ah

Ramya Chandar Charles M

Renan Uhdre

Riley Morgan Anderson

Ritwik Rakshit Roberta Koku

Rosbelys Geraldine Diverres Naranjo

Rubikah Vimonish Ryan William Kuesel Sabrina Volponi Safal Kshetri Salik Khanal Scott Wesley Carle Shahbaz Ahmed Shamily Patibandla Shaun James Clare Shaun Sutton

Shelby Dawn Samartino

Shuaishuai Ma Shuang Wang

Shubhankar Sircar (Shubhankar Sircar)

Shweta Suri

Smitha Sivapragasam Sohrab Haghighi Mood

Song Gu

Sukanya Bhoumik Sushanta Deb Tajbir Raihan Taras Nazarov Taylor Reams Tetyana Smertenko Thomas Gooding

Valentin Leannec-Rialland

Wangcheng Liu Wei Wang Weili Yuan Wenda Hu

William Jacob Pitt Wilson Allarick Craine

Xiaoyu Bai Xu Zhou Yanjun Song Yanmei Xiao Yaqiong Zhang Yeongseok Oh Yishuai Huang Zhipeng Li Zi Hua Ziqi Yu

Contessa Ricci (Challenged) Brad Dimos (Challenged)

Mohammadamin Vahidi Ghazvini

(Challenged)

Seham H.M. Hendawy (Challenged) Rahmani Shahvzad (Challenged) Aiden Nguyen (Challenged) Sammuel Shahzad (Challenged)

Kristopher Smith (Challenged) Sara Westbrook (Challenged)