Human Resource Services
Search

Leave due to serious health condition


Washington State University offers a variety of leave provisions for employees who need to be off work due to their own medical condition or a family member’s medical condition.

Family Medical Leave
Family Care Leave
Disability Leave


Family Medical Leave

Overview and Entitlements
Eligibility
Use of Accrued Leave
To Apply
Resources

Overview

Employee Rights under the Family Medical Leave Act

Pursuant to the Family Medical Leave Act (FML) of 1993 employees may be eligible for up to 12 weeks of unpaid protected leave in a 12 month rolling year when the leave is taken for purposes of:

  • The birth of a son or daughter or placement of a son or daughter with the employee for adoption or foster care
  • To care for an immediate family member (spouse, child, or parent) with a serious health condition
  • To take medical leave when the employee is unable to work because of a serious health condition
  • Any qualifying exigency arising out of the fact that a spouse, son, daughter, or parent is a military member on covered active duty or call to covered active duty status

The 12 month rolling year is measured beginning the date the proposed FML leave begins

Eligibility

An eligible employee will need to have worked for the State of Washington for at least 12 months and worked at least 1,250 hours in the 12 months immediately preceding their period of leave.

Not eligible for FML? See Disability Leave or Family Care Leave

Use of Accrued Leave

FML is unpaid leave. You may however choose to take either paid leave based on your leave accruals or unpaid leave. An employee may move in and out of pay status while on FML.

Benefits while on leave

Employer paid medical benefits will remain effective during the FML period as long as the employee pays their monthly employee premiums. If an employee chooses unpaid FML, the University will continue to pay the employer portion of benefits and the employee will be billed for their share of the benefits cost.

To Apply

To apply for FML, the employee completes the Employee Leave Request form and the health care provider to complete the Health Care Provider Statement. Both forms are available on the forms page. Return both forms to Human Resource Services (HRS). Upon receipt of the forms, HRS will determine the employee’s eligibility for FML as well as other Federal, State, and University medical leave provisions. When possible, the forms should be returned 30-days prior to the start of the medical leave.

Please note, in some circumstances WSU cannot allow an employee to return to work from a period of medical leave without the release of their Health Care Provider.  Prior to an employee’s return to work they should complete and submit the Work Assessment / Return to Work form available on the forms page.

Resources

Questions? Contact Disability Services

[Return to Top]


Family Care Leave

Overview and Entitlements
Eligibility
Use of Accrued Leave
To Apply
Resources

Overview

Under the Washington State Family Care Act  (RCW 49.12.270), employees are eligible to use available sick leave and other paid leave as Family Care Leave (FCL). This leave is generally used when an employee is not eligible for FML or their family member does not qualify under FML. Under the law, an employee is entitled to use any or all of their choice of sick or other paid leave to care for a sick child with a routine illness; a spouse, parent, parent-in-law, or grandparent with a serious or emergency health condition; and an adult child with a disability.

Eligibility

All permanent WSU employees are eligible for FCL.

Use of Accrued Leave

Employees may use accrued sick leave, annual leave, compensatory time, or personal holiday. An employee may not use Leave Without Pay under this provision. Leave may be taken on a full-time, part-time or intermittent basis.

To Apply

To apply for FCL, the employee completes the Employee Leave Request form and the health care provider to complete the Health Care Provider Statement. Both forms are available on the forms page. Return both forms to Human Resource Services (HRS). Upon receipt of the forms, HRS will determine the employee’s eligibility for FCL. When possible, the forms should be returned 30-days prior to the start of the medical leave.

Resources 

Questions? Contact Disability Services

[Return to Top]


Disability Leave

Overview and Entitlements
Eligibility
Use of Accrued Leave
To Apply
Resources

Overview

Under WSU leave provisions (BPPM 60.56 and 60.57) employees who are unable to perform their job duties because they are disabled may be provided up to four months of Disability Leave as identified by their medical provider.  An employee is allowed to use a minimum of eight hours of accrued paid leave per month during Disability Leave to provide for continuation of employer paid benefits. The eight hours paid leave must be used on the first working day of the month. Disability Leave may only be taken on a full-time basis.

Eligibility

Civil Service, Administrative Professional and Faculty employees are eligible for Disability Leave. Bargaining unit employees must refer to the appropriate agreements.

Use of Accrued Leave

Employees may use accrued sick leave, annual leave, compensatory time, personal holiday and leave without pay. If the Disability Leave is taken due to pregnancy or childbirth, an employee may move in and out of pay status within the month. If the Disability Leave is not related to pregnancy or childbirth an employee may not move in an out of paid status except on the first working day of the month for the purpose of benefits continuation.

To Apply

To apply for Disability Leave, the employee completes the Employee Leave Request form and the health care provider to complete the Health Care Provider Statement. Both forms are available on the forms page. Return both forms to HRS. Upon receipt of the forms, HRS will determine the employee’s eligibility for Disability Leave as well as any other Federal, State, or University medical leave provisions. When possible, the forms should be returned 30-days prior to the start of the medical leave.

Resources 

Questions? Contact Disability Services

[Return to Top]

Washington State University